Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
 Download Current HansardDownload Current Hansard   

Previous Fragment    Next Fragment
Thursday, 13 September 1984
Page: 997

(Question No. 1052)

Senator Kilgariff asked the Minister representing the Minister for Home Affairs and Environment, upon notice, on 22 August 1984:

(1) Why have representatives of the mining industry not been appointed to the advisory committee looking into the future management of Kakadu National Park, bearing in mind that there are large mineral deposits in the area.

(2) Does the Minister for Home Affairs and Environment agree that without representation of the mining industry the committee does not have a balance of interest and advice in regard to the Park; if so, will the Minister review the membership of the advisory committee.

(3) Will the Minister have tabled in the Senate the names of those persons participating on the committee, and the interest or industry they represent.

Senator Ryan —The Minister for Home Affairs and Environment has provided the following answer to the honourable senator's question:

(1) Dr Terry Garner, General Manager-Operations, Ranger Uranium Mines Pty Ltd, is a member of the Kakadu National Park Advisory Committee comprised of representatives of public interest groups.

(2) See (1) above.

(3) Membership of the Advisory Committee includes:

The Director of the Australian National Parks and Wildlife Service, or his nominee;

Dr. T. Garner, General Manager-Operations, Ranger Uranium Mines Pty Ltd;

Mr N. Maralngurra, Chairman, Gunbalanya Council Inc.;

Mr E. Main, Chairman, Jabiru Town Council;

Mr M. Alderson, Chairman, Gadudju Association Inc.;

Dr C. Jack-Hinton, Director, N.T. Museum of Arts and Sciences;

Dr M. G. Ridpath, OIC, Darwin Laboratories, CSIRO;

Mr A. Julius, President, Amateur Fisherman's Association of the Northern Territory;

Ms K. Hosking, Executive Officer, Darwin Tourist Promotion Association;

Mr M. Stewart, President, Northern Territory Association of Four Wheel Drive Clubs Inc.; and

Mr R. Baker, Northern Territory Councillor, Australian Conservation Foundation.