Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
 Download Current HansardDownload Current Hansard   

Previous Fragment    Next Fragment
Wednesday, 22 August 1984
Page: 188

(Question No. 853)

Senator Chipp asked the Minister representing the Minister for Aboriginal Affairs, upon notice, on 2 May 1984:

What are the names, dates of appointment, terms of appointment and salaries of all persons appointed to the boards and commissions of statutory authorities under the jurisdiction of the Minister.

Senator Ryan —The Minister for Aboriginal Affairs has provided the following answer to Senator Chipp's question:

The two relevant statutory authorities are the Aboriginal Development Commission and the Australian Institute of Aboriginal Studies.

Aboriginal Development Commission

All commissioners have been appointed on a part time basis. No salary is payable, but commissioners receive a rate of fee determined by the Remuneration Tribunal, as shown in the following table:

Date Annual rate Name

Appointed Term of fee

$ Shirley McPherson 15.12.83 2.6 years *11,835 Mick Miller 15.12.83 2.6 years *7,899 Martin Jambajimba 1.7.82 4 years 5,917 Eva Geia 1.7.82 4 years 5,917 Ted Simpson 22.9.83 2.9 years 5,917 Lois O'Donoghue, CBE, AM 1.7.80 4 years 5 ,917 Crossfield Ahmat 1.7.82 2 years 5,917 Elizabeth Hoff mann 1.7.80 4 years 5,917 James Bieundurry 1.7.80 4 years 5,917

* Mrs Shirley McPherson was appointed Acting Chairman (part time) and Mr Mick Miller Acting Acting Deputy Chairman from 29 March 1984 to 30 June 1984 following the resignation of Mr Charles Perkins as full time Chairman.

Australian Institute of Aboriginal Studies

Members of the Council are part time and receive no salary.

The following members of the Senate were appointed to Council by the Senate on 23 August 1983 for a three year term:

Senator E. A. Robertson

Senator B. C. Teague

The following members of the House of Representatives were appointed to the Council by that House until the dissolution of the 33rd Parliament:

Mr J. R. Porter, MP, appointed on 18 May 1983

Mr G. L. Hand, MP, appointed on 28 May 1984.

The following members were appointed to the Council by the Governor-General on 11 November 1983 to serve until 30 June 1986:

Hon. K. E. Beazley

Hon. W. C. Wentworth

Mr Roy Nichols

Ms Kate George

Mr Charles Perkins whose resignation from the Council was accepted by the Governor-General to take effect on 28 May 1984.

The Principal of the Institute and eleven members of the Institute elected by the members of the Institute are also members of the Council.