Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
 Download Current HansardDownload Current Hansard    View Or Save XMLView/Save XML

Previous Fragment    Next Fragment
Wednesday, 9 May 2012
Page: 4397

Mrs ANDREWS (McPherson) (09:30): I recently held my second annual McPherson Community Achiever Awards at the Burleigh Waters Community Centre to formally recognise the work done by many of the unsung heroes of the McPherson community. The work done by each of this year's 45 outstanding recipients reinforces the strong community spirit we have on the Gold Coast. I believe Gold Coasters are very well recognised for their community spirit—and, in fact, their generosity of spirit—and this was clearly on display at the McPherson Community Achiever Awards.

This year's recipients have been recognised for their roles in a number of organisations, and I will name just a few of those. There was surf lifesaving, the Lions and Lioness clubs, the Gold Coast Orchid Society, RACQ CareFlight, our local RSLs, the Gold Coast Kidney Support Network, St Vincent de Paul, the Gold Coast Post Polio Support Network, Scouts, bowls clubs, Neighbourhood Watch and Crime Stoppers. We also had a nomination—a successful recipient—of a teacher at the Mudgeeraba Special School, for her very outstanding work with our special needs children.

Each recipient made a unique contribution to the community and in many different ways added to the lives of those who are the most vulnerable. Some recipients were recognised for their work as volunteers in the community, and others were recognised for going above and beyond the call of duty in their work. I would like to acknowledge each of those recipients again: Steve and Lyn Boyle, Ross Bussell, Lyn Calligros, Jared Clarke, Fred Craddock, Liz Connolly, Bronwyn Drinkwater, Glen Edmonds, Norma Evans, Elizabeth Fitchett, Peter and Lisa Gallagher, Peter Garrett, Scott Gilbert, Patrick Gillett, Lyn Glover, Dion Harris, Daren Healey, Sandra Hill, Stuart Hogben, Alex Jih, Daniel Kent, Vic Knowles, Barbara Lee, Zita Lepahe, Marsha Maynard, Joe McKone, Brian Milligan, Erin Mitchell, Merv Newman, Shelley Nolan, Carole Palesy, Werner Piehler, Jamie Quinn, Mark Ross, Elaine and Irving Schuster, Barbara Selby, Sonia Smith, Sheila Storrs, Paul Trewartha, Sue Wickham, Allan Williams and Jill Wych.

Once again, I would like to congratulate them on their very outstanding efforts and all they do for the community. The contributions made by each of these recipients and those of hardworking volunteers across the country go largely unrecognised. The McPherson Community Achiever Awards were my opportunity to thank those people for their outstanding contributions to the community.