Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
 Download Current HansardDownload Current Hansard    View Or Save XMLView/Save XML

Previous Fragment    Next Fragment
Wednesday, 26 March 2014
Page: 3300

Mr MATHESON (Macarthur) (09:33): Today I rise to pay tribute to the outstanding police officers of Macarthur who were recognised for service above self at the Macarthur Rotary 8th annual Police Officer of the Year awards. These awards recognise the fantastic work being done by men and women serving in the New South Wales Police Force on behalf of the local community.

It is with great pride that I acknowledge the recipient of this year's Police Officer of the Year award, Leading Senior Constable Eleanor Jenkins. LSC Jenkins has been a member of the New South Wales Police Force since 2003. She consistently sets high professional standards in her duties and is an excellent role model to others, in particular to the junior police officers that she mentors. Her significant workload shows her commitment and professionalism. She consistently leads the pack in terms of proactive arrests and street-level drug detections and interventions.

LSC Jenkins balances these results in the field with her other role as a loving mother. She works full time while supporting her family and our community. She is highly respected and has received many letters of appreciation from victims of crime for assistance and support. LSC Jenkins is a perfect example of the dedication and commitment that our police officers give to the job every time they go to work.

I am also proud to acknowledge the other award recipients who have demonstrated service above self in their respective fields: in the traffic and highway patrol category, Leading Senior Constable Robert Ryan, for leading by example and his enthusiastic approach to policing and mentoring junior members of staff; in the detective category, Senior Constable Detective Brent Piggott, who shows great initiative, dedication to duty and persistence in getting the job done; in the crime management category, Senior Constable Mark Scambary, for his untiring efforts in respect to youth education, intervention, support and mentoring; in the probationary constable category, Douglas Brennen, for his level of maturity, commitment to duty and the exceptional customer service he provides to victims of crime; and, in the unsworn officers administrative staff category, Patricia Morrison for her invaluable source of knowledge and assistance that comes from experience and the desire to be the best at what she does. I wish all of these outstanding police officers the best as they continue their fight to make our communities a safer place to live.

I would also like to praise the Rotary clubs of Camden, Campbelltown, Narellan, Wollondilly North, Ingleburn and Macarthur Sunrise for organising these awards. Recognising police officers who protect our local community is very close to my heart. I served in the New South Wales Police Force for 25 years and I know from personal experience the trials and tribulations of life in the police force. Each day brings new challenges as well as opportunities to help the community. I thank all of the police officers in Macarthur for approaching their work with professionalism, excellence and dedication. I wish them a safe journey and all the very best as they continue their careers in the New South Wales Police Force.