Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
 Download Current HansardDownload Current Hansard    View Or Save XMLView/Save XML

Previous Fragment    Next Fragment
Monday, 9 February 2015
Page: 210

Mr TAYLOR (Hume) (16:05): I would like to congratulate two residents from the Hume electorate who were deservedly acknowledged in this year's Australia Day honours.

Firstly, to Crookwell's Denis Marshall, who received a Medal in the Order of Australia for his tireless work in aged care over many decades. Residents of the Upper Lachlan Shire are served by two excellent aged-care facilities, Viewhaven Lodge in Crookwell and Sunset Lodge in Taralga. Denis has played an integral part in the development of both. Denis's efforts have allowed the elderly in Upper Lachlan to stay in their own communities, be close to family and friends, and be cared for by their own. No-one in Crookwell is more proud of Denis than his devoted wife Lillian, herself a driving force in the local CWA.

Goulburn's Gary Worboys was also honoured on Australia Day, receiving the Australian Police Medal for his distinguished service over more than 30 years in the New South Wales Police Force. This includes many years in the southern NSW region where he has developed strong ties with the local community and earned a great deal of respect and many friends in the process. Placing a strong emphasis on community engagement has been a hallmark of Assistant Commissioner Worboys' approach to policing and it is much appreciated by the local community.

Congratulations to all Hume residents acknowledged as their local community's citizen of the year in 2015. We appreciate all you do in your extraordinary service to others.