Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
 Download Current HansardDownload Current Hansard    View Or Save XMLView/Save XML

Previous Fragment    Next Fragment
Wednesday, 21 March 2012
Page: 3929

Resources, Energy and Tourism: Portfolio Entities

(Question Nos 816 and 817)

Mr Fletcher asked the Minister for Resources and Energy, in writing, on 7 February 2012:

How many departments, agencies, commissions, Government owned corporations or other such bodies have been created within the Ministers portfolio since 24 November 2007 (excluding existing departments that have been re-named or merged into a larger entity), what is the name of each such entity, and how many full-time equivalent employees did each such entity have at the end of 2011.

Mr Martin Ferguson: The answer to the honourable member's question is as follows:

On 3 December 2007, the Department of Resources, Energy and Tourism (RET) was formed out of the Department of Industry, Tourism and Resources (DITR). RET falls within the portfolio of the Minister for Resources and Energy, and the Minister for Tourism.

The Australia Solar Institute (ASI) was incorporated as a not-for-profit company limited by guarantee on 10 August 2009, and falls with the purview of the Minister for Resources and Energy.

As at 31 December 2011, the full-time equivalent (FTE) employees for:

RET was 565.81 (excluding the Secretary).

ASI was 8 (including the Executive Director).

Legislation passed the Parliament in 2011 to create the Australian Renewable Energy Agency (ARENA). This entity commences operation on 1 July 2012.