Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
 Download Current HansardDownload Current Hansard   

Previous Fragment    Next Fragment
Thursday, 30 April 1987
Page: 2401

(Question No. 4995)

Mr Sinclair asked the Minister for Foreign Affairs, upon notice, on 17 February 1987:

(1) What are the names of the signatory nations who have signed the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights.

(2) For each of these nations, (a) how frequently are national elections held, (b) when were the last 3 elections held, (c) how many political parties contested those elections and (d) is any House of Parliament comprised of members representing single-member constituencies; if so, (i) what is the disparity between the number of electors who voted in the last election in the numerically smallest and numerically largest constituency in each House of Parliament and (ii) what is the method of voting used in elections for each House of Parliament, including whether the method is (A) compulsory preferential, (B) optional preferential or (C) first past the post.

Mr Hayden —The answer to the right honourable member's question is as follows:

(1) The nations which have signed (S), ratified (R) or acceded to (A) the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights are:

S Algeria, A Cameroon, A Central African Republic, A Congo, R Egypt, A Gabon, A Gambia, R Guinea, A Kenya, S Liberia, A Libya, R Madagascar, A Mali, A Mauritius, R Morocco, A Niger, R Japan, S Democratic Kampuchea, A Korea (DPR), R Mongolia, R New Zealand, R Philippines, A Sri Lanka, A Viet Nam, R Austria, R Belgium, R Bulgaria, R Byelorussia, R Cyprus, R Czechoslovakia, R Denmark, R Finland, A Rwanda, R Senegal, A Sudan, A Tanzania, A Togo, R Tunisia, A Zaire, A Zambia, R Argentina, A Barbados, A Bolivia, A Canada, R Chile, R Colombia, R Costa Rica, A Dominican Republic, R Ecuador, R El Salvador, R Guyana, S Honduras, R Jamaica, A Mexico, A Nicaragua, R Panama, R Peru, A St Vincent and the Grenadines, A Suriname, A Trinidad and Tobago, S United States of America, R Uruguay, R Venezuela, A Afghanistan, R Australia, A India, A France, R German Democratic Republic, R German Federal Republic, R Hungary, R Iceland, S Ireland, R Italy, R Luxembourg, R Netherlands, R Norway, R Poland, R Portugal, R Romania, A San Marino, R Spain, R Sweden, R Ukrainian SSR, R United Kingdom, R USSR, R Yugoslavia, S Algeria, R Egypt, R Iran, R Iraq, S Israel, R Jordan, A Lebanon, A Libya, R Morocco, A Syria, R Tunisia.

(2) I am advised that this information is not held by my Department at present.