Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
 Download Current HansardDownload Current Hansard   

Previous Fragment    Next Fragment
Monday, 30 March 1987
Page: 1747

(Question No. 4502)

Mr Everingham asked the Minister for Aviation, upon notice, on 16 September 1986:

(1) What are the (a) number and (b) location of the Area Approach Control Centres (AACC) operated by his Department.

(2) Have AACC's recently been built in Adelaide and Melbourne, if so, what did they cost.

(3) Does his Department plan to continue operating these centres for the foreseeable future or has it plans to centralise the function.

(4) Are any additional AACC's being planned; if so, where and at what cost.

Mr Peter Morris —The following is the answer to the honourable member's question:

(1) (a) There are five Area Approach Control Centres (AACC's) operated by the Department of Aviation. (b) These are located at Adelaide, Brisbane, Melbourne, Perth and Sydney.

(2) Yes. Replacement AACC's have been built recently at Adelaide and Melbourne at a cost of $3.4m and $6.7m respectively.

(3) My Department is considering the consolidation of air traffic services functions into a smaller number of larger centres which could lead to a re-arrangement of responsibilities between existing centres for more efficient operation.

(4) Yes. My Department is planning an extensive modernisation program of its Air Traffic Service (both Flight Service and ATC) facilities over the next 10 to 20 years. Consideration is currently being given to the provision of a North-Eastern Air Traffic Services Centre in Brisbane and a Terminal Area Centre in Sydney. Costs have not been finalised.