Save Search

Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
 Download Current HansardDownload Current Hansard    View Or Save XMLView/Save XML

Previous Fragment    Next Fragment
Wednesday, 12 October 2011
Page: 11655

Mr SNOWDON (LingiariMinister for Veterans' Affairs, Minister for Defence Science and Personnel and Minister for Indigenous Health) (17:14): by leave—It gives me great pleasure as the Minister Assisting the Prime Minister on the Centenary of Anzac to announce today the members of the Anzac Centenary Advisory Board. As the House would recall, I announced Air Chief Marshal Angus Houston as the Chair of the Board in July. From 2014 to 2018, Australia will commemorate the Anzac Centenary. During this time—and Mr Deputy Speaker Scott, I know this is an issue that is close to your heart—we will remember and honour 100 years of service and sacrifice. The Anzac Centenary will mark one of the most important anniversaries in our nation's history. In March this year, the National Commission on the Commemoration of the Anzac Centenary presented its report to the Prime Minister.

The commission comprised two former Prime Ministers, Bob Hawke and Malcolm Fraser, as well as Rear Admiral Ken Doolan, Rtd Major Matina Jewell, Warren Brown and Kylie Russell.

The commission members did an outstanding job and I thank them for their contributions which are greatly appreciated.

A key recommendation from the report of the commission was the establishment of the Anzac Centenary Advisory Board, a recommendation which the government accepted.

The advisory board will provide high-level strategic advice to government on a program of commemorative activities in the years leading into the commemorative period and throughout the Anzac Centenary program from 2014 to 2018. The Anzac Centenary commemorative program will encompass all wars, conflicts and peacekeeping operations in which Australians have been involved.

Each has played an integral role in shaping our national identity.

The board will develop a program of commemorative activities in the years leading into the commemorative period and throughout the Anzac Centenary program from 2014 to 2018. It will engage with the community and other sectors to canvass a wide range of views in formulating its advice to government. The board will also build on the earlier work undertaken by the national commission and the public submission process.

I am delighted to announce today that 16 highly capable and professional Australians, along with four ex-officio members, have been selected to join Air Chief Marshal Houston on the board. The appointments are: Mrs Kathryn Greiner, Mr James Strong, Professor Christine Charles, Mr Sandy Hollway, Professor Margaret Gardiner, Mr Peter FitzSimons, Ms Liz Ellis, His Honour Judge Rauf Soulio, Dr Jackie Huggins, Professor David Horner, Mr Luke Bowen, Rear Admiral Davyd Thomas, Major-General Brian Howard, Brigadier Bill Rolfe, the Hon. Con Sciacca and the Hon. Sandy Macdonald. The four ex-officio appointments are: Mr Ian Campbell, Secretary, Department of Veterans' Affairs; Air Marshal Mark Binskin, Vice Chief of the Defence Force; Rear Admiral Ken Doolan, National President of the Returned and Services League of Australia; and His Excellency Major-General Martyn Dunne, New Zealand High Commissioner to Australia. I table a list of the members together with a brief description of their current or previous roles.

Finding the right mix of people has been an important consideration. The board members I have announced today have a great deal of experience in their relevant fields and will bring an outstanding diversity of views to the Centenary of Anzac preparations. Of particular note, our longstanding and special Anzac relationship with New Zealand is represented on the board by the New Zealand High Commissioner to Australia, His Excellency Major-General Martyn Dunne, one of four ex-officio members.

It is vital that the centenary creates an enduring legacy to educate future generations about the Anzac legend and how our nation's involvement in military operations has shaped us not only in terms of the service and sacrifice of those who have so proudly worn the nation's uniform but also in what it meant for those at home.

The board will be supported by six advisory groups which will focus on the areas of:

education and curriculum,

military and cultural history,



ceremonial and commemorative planning, and importantly

engagement with state, territory and local government.

Ex-service organisations will also have the opportunity to actively contribute to the development of the Anzac Centenary program.

The is a truly bipartisan activity and I welcome the commitment from the coalition to the process. The advisory board's inaugural meeting will occur later this week, and I look forward to working with the board on this very significant occasion in Australia's history.

I ask leave of the House to move a motion to enable the member for Fadden to speak for a period of 5½ minutes.

Leave granted.

Mr SNOWDON: I move:

That so much of standing and sessional orders be suspended as would prevent Mr Robert speaking for a period not exceeding 5½ minutes.

Question agreed to.