Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
 Download PDFDownload PDF 

Previous Fragment    Next Fragment


Mr Shorten (Leader of the Opposition) moved—That so much of the standing and sessional orders be suspended as would prevent private Members’ business notice No. 36 relating to the Parliamentary Australian Education Amendment (School Funding Guarantee) Bill 2014 standing in the name of the Honourable the Leader of the Opposition, being called on immediately and being given priority over all other business for passage through all stages by no later than 4.30 pm on 27 March 2014.

Debate ensued.

The time allowed by standing order 1 for debate on the motion having expired—



The House divided (the Deputy Speaker, Mr B. C. Scott, in the Chair)—

AYES, 54

Mr Albanese

Ms Claydon

Mr S. P. Jones

Ms Rishworth

Mr Bandt

Ms Collins

Ms King

Ms Rowland

Ms Bird

Mr Conroy

Dr Leigh

Ms Ryan*

Mr Bowen

Mr Danby

Ms McGowan

Mr Shorten

Ms Brodtmann

Mr Dreyfus

Mr Marles

Mr Snowdon

Ms A. E. Burke

Mrs Elliot

Mr Mitchell

Mr Swan

Mr A. S. Burke

Mr Feeney

Mr Neumann

Mr Thistlethwaite

Mr M. C. Butler

Mr Ferguson

Mr O’Connor

Mr Thomson

Ms T. M. Butler

Mr Fitzgibbon

Ms O’Neil

Ms Vamvakinou

Mr Byrne

Mr Giles

Ms Owens

Mr Watts

Dr Chalmers

Mr Griffin

Ms Parke

Mr Wilkie

Mr Champion

Ms Hall*

Mr Perrett

Mr Zappia

Ms L. M. Chesters

Mr Hayes

Ms Plibersek


Mr Clare

Mr Husic

Mr Ripoll


NOES, 77

Mr Alexander

Mr Hawke

Mrs McNamara

Dr Southcott

Mr K. J. Andrews

Ms Henderson

Ms Marino

Dr Stone

Mrs K. L. Andrews

Dr Hendy

Mrs Markus

Ms Sudmalis

Mr Billson

Mr Hockey

Mr Matheson

Mr Sukkar

Mr Briggs

Mr Hogan

Mr Morrison

Mr Taylor

Mr Broad

Mr Howarth

Mr Nikolic

Mr Tehan

Mr Broadbent

Mr Hunt

Mr O’Dowd

Mr Truss

Mr Brough

Mr Hutchinson

Ms O’Dwyer

Mr Turnbull

Mr Buchholz*

Mr Irons

Mr Pitt

Mr van Manen

Mr D. J. Chester

Dr Jensen

Mr Porter

Mr Varvaris

Mr Christensen

Mr E. T. Jones

Mrs Prentice

Mr Vasta

Mr Cobb

Mr Joyce

Ms Price

Mr Whiteley

Mr Coleman

Mr Keenan

Mr Pyne

Mrs Wicks

Mr Coulton*

Mr Kelly

Mr Randall

Mr Williams

Mr Entsch

Mr Laming

Mr Robert

Mr Wilson

Mr Fletcher

Ms M. L. Landry

Mr Wyatt Roy

Mr Wood

Mr Frydenberg

Mr C. A. Laundy

Mr Ruddock

Mr Wyatt

Ms Gambaro

Ms Ley

Ms F. M. Scott


Dr Gillespie

Mr McCormack

Mr Simpkins


Mr Goodenough

Mr Macfarlane

Mr Smith


* Tellers

And so it was negatived.