Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
 Download PDFDownload PDF 

Previous Fragment    Next Fragment


Mr Pyne (Leader of the House), pursuant to notice, moved—That, in respect of the proceedings on the Clean Energy Finance Corporation (Abolition) Bill 2013 [No. 2], so much of the standing and sessional orders be suspended as would prevent the following from occurring:

(1)    at the conclusion of the second reading debate, not including a Minister speaking in reply, or at 12 noon on Thursday 27 March 2014, whichever is the earlier, a Minister being called to sum up the second reading debate and then without delay the immediate question before the House being put, then any question or questions necessary to complete the second reading stage of the bill to be put;

(2)    if the second reading of the bill has been agreed to and any message from the Governor-General recommending an appropriation for the bill announced, the bill then being taken as a whole during consideration in detail stage, if required, for a period not exceeding 60 minutes, at which time any Government amendments that have been circulated in respect of the bill shall be treated as if they have been moved together with:

(a)    one question being put on all the Government amendments;

(b)   one question being put on any amendments which have been moved by non-Government Members; and

(c)    any further questions necessary to complete the remaining stages of the bill being put; and

(3)    any variation to this arrangement to be made only by a motion moved by a Minister.

Debate ensued.



The House divided (the Speaker, Mrs B. K. Bishop, in the Chair)—

AYES, 77

Mr Alexander

Mr Hawke

Ms Marino

Dr Southcott

Mr K. J. Andrews

Ms Henderson

Mrs Markus

Dr Stone

Mrs K. L. Andrews

Dr Hendy

Mr Matheson

Ms Sudmalis

Mr Billson

Mr Hockey

Mr Morrison

Mr Sukkar

Mr Briggs

Mr Hogan

Mr Nikolic

Mr Taylor

Mr Broad

Mr Howarth

Mr O’Dowd

Mr Tehan

Mr Broadbent

Mr Hunt

Ms O’Dwyer

Mr Truss

Mr Brough

Mr Hutchinson

Mr Pitt

Mr Turnbull

Mr Buchholz*

Mr Irons

Mr Porter

Mr van Manen

Mr D. J. Chester

Dr Jensen

Mrs Prentice

Mr Varvaris

Mr Christensen

Mr E. T. Jones

Ms Price

Mr Vasta

Mr Cobb

Mr Joyce

Mr Pyne

Mr Whiteley

Mr Coleman

Mr Keenan

Mr Randall

Mrs Wicks

Mr Coulton*

Mr Kelly

Mr Robert

Mr Williams

Mr Entsch

Mr Laming

Mr Wyatt Roy

Mr Wilson

Mr Fletcher

Ms M. L. Landry

Mr Ruddock

Mr Wood

Mr Frydenberg

Mr C. A. Laundy

Mr B. C. Scott

Mr Wyatt

Ms Gambaro

Ms Ley

Ms F. M. Scott


Dr Gillespie

Mr McCormack

Mr Simpkins


Mr Goodenough

Mrs McNamara

Mr Smith


NOES, 53

Mr Albanese

Ms Claydon

Ms King

Ms Rowland

Mr Bandt

Ms Collins

Dr Leigh

Ms Ryan*

Ms Bird

Mr Conroy

Ms McGowan

Mr Shorten

Mr Bowen

Mr Danby

Mr Marles

Mr Snowdon

Ms Brodtmann

Mr Dreyfus

Mr Mitchell

Mr Swan

Ms A. E. Burke

Mrs Elliot

Mr Neumann

Mr Thistlethwaite

Mr A. S. Burke

Mr Feeney

Mr O’Connor

Mr Thomson

Mr M. C. Butler

Mr Ferguson

Ms O’Neil

Ms Vamvakinou

Ms T. M. Butler

Mr Giles

Ms Owens

Mr Watts

Mr Byrne

Mr Griffin

Ms Parke

Mr Wilkie

Dr Chalmers

Ms Hall*

Mr Perrett

Mr Zappia

Mr Champion

Mr Hayes

Ms Plibersek


Ms L. M. Chesters

Mr Husic

Mr Ripoll


Mr Clare

Mr S. P. Jones

Ms Rishworth


* Tellers

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.