Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document


Mr Bandt moved—That so much of the standing and sessional orders be suspended as would prevent the Member for Melbourne moving the following motion forthwith—That private Members’ business item No. 12, Government investment in research, standing in the name of the Member for Melbourne on the Notice Paper, be returned from the Federation Chamber and considered immediately.

Debate ensuing—

Member directed to leave

At 3.22 p.m. the Member for Wakefield (Mr Champion) was directed, under standing order 94, to leave the Chamber for one hour for continuing to interject, and he accordingly left the Chamber.

Debate continued.

The time allowed by standing order 1 for debate on the motion having expired—



The House divided (the Speaker, Ms A. E. Burke, in the Chair)—

AYES, 74

Mr Alexander

Mr Forrest

Ms Marino

Mr Simpkins

Mr K. J. Andrews

Mr Frydenberg

Mrs Markus

Mr Slipper

Mrs K. L. Andrews

Ms Gambaro

Mr Morrison

Mr A. D. H. Smith

Mr Baldwin

Mrs Gash

Mrs Moylan

Mr Somlyay

Mr Bandt

Mrs Griggs

Mr Neville

Dr Southcott

Mr Billson

Mr Haase

Mr Oakeshott

Dr Stone

Mrs B. K. Bishop

Mr Hartsuyker

Mr O’Dowd

Mr Tehan

Mr Briggs

Mr A. G. Hawke

Ms O’Dwyer

Mr C. R. Thomson

Mr Broadbent

Mr Hockey

Mrs Prentice

Mr Truss

Mr Buchholz

Mr Hunt

Mr Pyne

Mr Tudge

Mr Chester

Mr Irons

Mr Ramsey

Mr Turnbull

Mr Christensen

Dr Jensen

Mr Randall

Mr van Manen

Mr Ciobo

Mr Katter

Mr Robb

Mr Vasta

Mr Cobb

Mr Keenan

Mr Robert

Dr Washer

Mr Coulton*

Mr C. Kelly

Mr Wyatt Roy

Mr Wilkie

Mr Crook

Mr Laming

Mr Ruddock

Mr Windsor

Mr Dutton

Ms Ley

Mr Schultz

Mr Wyatt

Mr Entsch

Mr McCormack

Mr Scott


Mr Fletcher

Mr Macfarlane

Mr Secker*


NOES, 66

Mr Adams

Ms Ellis

Dr Leigh

Ms Rishworth

Mr Albanese

Dr Emerson

Ms Livermore

Ms Rowland

Ms Bird

Mr L. D. T. Ferguson

Mr Lyons

Ms Roxon

Mr Bowen

Mr Fitzgibbon

Mr McClelland

Mr Rudd

Mr Bradbury

Mr Garrett

Ms Macklin

Ms Saffin*

Ms Brodtmann

Mr Georganas

Mr Marles

Mr Shorten

Mr A. S. Burke

Mr Gibbons

Mr Melham

Mr Sidebottom

Mr Butler

Mr Gray

Mr Mitchell

Mr S. F. Smith

Mr Byrne

Ms Grierson

Mr Murphy

Ms Smyth

Mr Cheeseman

Mr Griffin

Mr Neumann

Mr Snowdon

Mr Clare

Ms Hall

Mr O’Connor

Mr Swan

Ms Collins

Mr Hayes

Ms O’Neill

Mr Symon

Mr Crean

Mr Husic*

Ms Owens

Mr K. J. Thomson

Mr Danby

Mr Jenkins

Ms Parke

Ms Vamvakinou

Mrs D’Ath

Mr S. P. Jones

Mr Perrett

Mr Zappia

Mr Dreyfus

Dr M. J. Kelly

Ms Plibersek


Mrs Elliot

Ms King

Mr Ripoll


* Tellers


Mr M. J. Ferguson         Ms J. I. Bishop

Mr Combet                     Mrs Mirabella

The requirements of standing order 47(c)(ii) for an absolute majority having not been satisfied, the motion was not carried.