Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
 Download PDFDownload PDF 

Previous Fragment    Next Fragment


The order of the day having been read for the resumption of the debate on the motion of Mr Frydenberg—That this House rejects calls to reduce funding to non-government schools to 2003-04 levels that would put at risk the financial viability of many non-government schools and leave many students disadvantaged—

Debate resumed by Mr Bandt who moved, as an amendment—That all words after “House” be omitted with a view to substituting the following words:

“calls on all Parliamentarians to endorse the principles contained in the final report of the Gonski Review of Funding for Schooling.”

Question—That the amendment be agreed to—put.


The House divided (the Speaker, Ms A. E. Burke, in the Chair)—

AYES, 65

Mr Adams

Mr Dreyfus

Ms Livermore

Ms Rowland

Mr Albanese

Mrs Elliot

Mr Lyons

Ms Roxon

Mr Bandt

Ms Ellis

Mr McClelland

Mr Rudd

Ms Bird

Dr Emerson

Ms Macklin

Ms Saffin

Mr Bowen

Mr M. J. Ferguson

Mr Melham

Mr Shorten

Mr Bradbury

Mr Fitzgibbon

Mr Mitchell

Ms Smyth

Ms Brodtmann

Mr Garrett

Mr Murphy

Mr Swan

Mr A. S. Burke

Mr Georganas

Mr Neumann

Mr Symon

Mr Butler

Mr Gibbons

Mr Oakeshott

Mr C. R. Thomson

Mr Byrne

Mr Gray

Mr O’Connor

Mr K. J. Thomson

Mr Champion

Mr Griffin

Ms O’Neill

Ms Vamvakinou

Mr Cheeseman

Ms Hall*

Ms Owens

Mr Wilkie

Ms Collins

Mr Hayes

Ms Parke

Mr Windsor

Mr Combet

Mr Husic*

Mr Perrett

Mr Zappia

Mr Crean

Mr Jenkins

Ms Plibersek


Mr Danby

Mr S. P. Jones

Mr Ripoll


Mrs D’Ath

Ms King

Ms Rishworth


NOES, 64

Mr Alexander

Mr Entsch

Ms Ley

Mr Wyatt Roy

Mr K. J. Andrews

Mr Fletcher

Mr McCormack

Mr Ruddock

Mrs K. L. Andrews

Mr Frydenberg

Mr Macfarlane

Mr Scott

Mr Baldwin

Ms Gambaro

Ms Marino

Mr Secker*

Mr Billson

Mrs Gash

Mrs Markus

Mr Simpkins

Mrs B. K. Bishop

Mrs Griggs

Mr Matheson

Mr Slipper

Ms J. I. Bishop

Mr Hartsuyker

Mrs Mirabella

Mr A. D. H. Smith

Mr Briggs

Mr A. G. Hawke

Mr Morrison

Dr Southcott

Mr Broadbent

Mr Hockey

Mr Neville

Dr Stone

Mr Buchholz

Mr Hunt

Mr O’Dowd

Mr Tehan

Mr Chester

Mr Irons

Ms O’Dwyer

Mr Truss

Mr Christensen

Dr Jensen

Mrs Prentice

Mr Tudge

Mr Ciobo

Mr E. T. Jones

Mr Pyne

Mr Turnbull

Mr Cobb

Mr Katter

Mr Ramsey

Mr van Manen

Mr Coulton*

Mr C. Kelly

Mr Randall

Mr Vasta

Mr Dutton

Mr Laming

Mr Robb

Mr Wyatt

* Tellers


Mr L. D. T. Ferguson     Mr Haase

Dr Leigh                         Mr Keenan

Mr Marles                      Mr Crook

Mr Sidebottom               Mrs Moylan

Ms Grierson                   Mr Somlyay

Mr S. F. Smith               Mr Robert

Mr Snowdon                  Dr Washer

Mr Clare                         Mr Forrest

Dr M. J. Kelly                Mr Schultz

Ms Gillard                      Mr Abbott

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.

Question—That the motion, as amended, be agreed to—put and passed.