Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
 Download PDFDownload PDF 

Previous Fragment    Next Fragment

    28   QUESTIONS

Questions without notice being asked—

Mr Abbott (Leader of the Opposition) asked leave to move a motion of censure.

Objection being raised—leave not granted.




Suspension of standing and sessional orders moved

Mr Abbott (Leader of the Opposition) moved—That so much of the standing and sessional orders be suspended as would prevent the Member for Warringah moving immediately—That this House censures the Government for deceiving the Australian people by bringing in a carbon tax that is nothing more than a bad tax built on a lie.

Debate ensued.

The time allowed by standing order 1 for debate on the motion having expired—



The House divided (the Speaker, Mr Jenkins, in the Chair)—

AYES, 72

Mr Abbott

Mr Entsch

Ms Ley

Mr Ruddock

Mr Alexander

Mr Fletcher

Mr McCormack

Mr Schultz

Mr K. J. Andrews

Mr Forrest

Mr Macfarlane

Mr Scott

Mrs K. L. Andrews

Mr Frydenberg

Ms Marino

Mr Secker*

Mr Baldwin

Ms Gambaro

Mrs Markus

Mr Simpkins

Mr Billson

Mrs Gash

Mr Matheson

Mr Slipper

Mrs B. K. Bishop

Mrs Griggs

Mr Morrison

Mr A. D. H. Smith

Ms J. I. Bishop

Mr Haase

Mrs Moylan

Mr Somlyay

Mr Briggs

Mr Hartsuyker

Mr Neville

Dr Southcott

Mr Broadbent

Mr A. G. Hawke

Mr O’Dowd

Dr Stone

Mr Buchholz

Mr Hockey

Ms O’Dwyer

Mr Tehan

Mr Chester

Mr Hunt

Mrs Prentice

Mr Truss

Mr Christensen

Mr Irons

Mr Pyne

Mr Tudge

Mr Ciobo

Dr Jensen

Mr Ramsey

Mr Turnbull

Mr Cobb

Mr E. T. Jones

Mr Randall

Mr van Manen

Mr Coulton*

Mr Keenan

Mr Robb

Mr Vasta

Mr Crook

Mr C. Kelly

Mr Robert

Dr Washer

Mr Dutton

Mr Laming

Mr Wyatt Roy

Mr Wyatt

NOES, 74

Mr Adams

Mr Dreyfus

Dr Leigh

Ms Rowland

Mr Albanese

Mrs Elliot

Ms Livermore

Ms Roxon

Mr Bandt

Ms Ellis

Mr Lyons

Mr Rudd

Ms Bird

Dr Emerson

Mr McClelland

Ms Saffin

Mr Bowen

Mr L. D. T. Ferguson

Ms Macklin

Mr Shorten

Mr Bradbury

Mr M. J. Ferguson

Mr Marles

Mr Sidebottom

Ms Brodtmann

Mr Fitzgibbon

Mr Melham

Mr S. F. Smith

Ms A. E. Burke

Mr Garrett

Mr Mitchell

Ms Smyth

Mr A. S. Burke

Mr Georganas

Mr Murphy

Mr Snowdon

Mr Butler

Mr Gibbons

Mr Neumann

Mr Swan

Mr Byrne

Ms Gillard

Mr Oakeshott

Mr Symon

Mr Champion

Mr Gray

Mr O’Connor

Mr C. R. Thomson

Mr Cheeseman

Ms Grierson

Ms O’Neill

Mr K. J. Thomson

Mr Clare

Mr Griffin

Ms Owens

Ms Vamvakinou

Ms Collins

Ms Hall*

Ms Parke

Mr Wilkie

Mr Combet

Mr Hayes

Mr Perrett

Mr Windsor

Mr Crean

Mr Husic*

Ms Plibersek

Mr Zappia

Mr Danby

Mr S. P. Jones

Mr Ripoll


Mrs D’Ath

Ms King

Ms Rishworth


* Tellers


Dr M. J. Kelly                Mrs Mirabella

And so it was negatived.




Questions without notice concluded.