Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
 Download PDFDownload PDF 

Previous Fragment    Next Fragment


Mr Albanese (Leader of the House), by leave, moved—That so much of the standing and sessional orders be suspended as would prevent the following items of private Members’ business being reported from the Main Committee, or called on, and considered immediately in the following order:

National Broadband Network Financial Transparency Bill 2010—Report from Main Committee;

Motion relating to Same-sex marriage—Order of the day No. 10; and

Motion relating to Asbestos—Report from Main Committee.

Mr Pyne moved, as an amendment—That the following words be added to the motion: “And (2) that the private Members’ business items No. 3, the Joint Select Committee on Broadband motion standing in the name of the member for Wentworth, and No. 7, the mental health motion standing in the name of the member for Dickson on the Notice Paper, be returned from the Main Committee and considered immediately”.

Debate ensued.

Question—That the words proposed to be added be so added—put.


The House divided (the Speaker, Mr Jenkins, in the Chair)—

AYES, 72

Mr Abbott

Mr Entsch

Mr McCormack

Mr Schultz

Mr Alexander

Mr Fletcher

Mr Macfarlane

Mr Scott

Mr K. J. Andrews

Mr Forrest

Ms Marino

Mr Secker*

Mrs K. L. Andrews

Ms Gambaro

Mrs Markus

Mr Simpkins

Mr Baldwin

Mrs Gash

Mr Matheson

Mr Slipper

Mr Billson

Mrs Griggs

Mrs Mirabella

Mr A. D. H. Smith

Mrs B. K. Bishop

Mr Haase

Mr Morrison

Mr Somlyay

Ms J. I. Bishop

Mr Hartsuyker

Mrs Moylan

Dr Southcott

Mr Briggs

Mr A. G. Hawke

Mr Neville

Dr Stone

Mr Broadbent

Mr Hockey

Mr O’Dowd

Mr Tehan

Mr Buchholz

Mr Hunt

Mrs Prentice

Mr Truss

Mr Chester

Mr Irons

Mr Pyne

Mr Tudge

Mr Christensen

Dr Jensen

Mr Ramsey

Mr Turnbull

Mr Ciobo

Mr E. T. Jones

Mr Randall

Mr van Manen

Mr Cobb

Mr Keenan

Mr Robb

Mr Vasta

Mr Coulton*

Mr C. Kelly

Mr Robert

Dr Washer

Mr Crook

Mr Laming

Wyatt Roy

Mr Wilkie

Mr Dutton

Ms Ley

Mr Ruddock

Mr Wyatt

NOES, 72

Mr Adams

Mrs D’Ath

Mr S. P. Jones

Mr Perrett

Mr Albanese

Mr Dreyfus

Dr M. J. Kelly

Mr Ripoll

Mr Bandt

Mrs Elliot

Ms King

Ms Rishworth

Ms Bird

Ms Ellis

Dr Leigh

Ms Rowland

Mr Bowen

Dr Emerson

Ms Livermore

Ms Roxon

Mr Bradbury

Mr L. D. T. Ferguson

Mr Lyons

Mr Rudd

Ms Brodtmann

Mr M. J. Ferguson

Mr McClelland

Ms Saffin

Ms A. E. Burke

Mr Fitzgibbon

Ms Macklin

Mr Shorten

Mr A. S. Burke

Mr Garrett

Mr Marles

Mr Sidebottom

Mr Butler

Mr Georganas

Mr Melham

Ms Smyth

Mr Byrne

Mr Gibbons

Mr Mitchell

Mr Snowdon

Mr Champion

Ms Gillard

Mr Murphy

Mr Swan

Mr Cheeseman

Mr Gray

Mr Neumann

Mr Symon

Mr Clare

Ms Grierson

Mr Oakeshott

Mr C. R. Thomson

Ms Collins

Mr Griffin

Mr O’Connor

Mr K. J. Thomson

Mr Combet

Ms Hall*

Ms O’Neill

Ms Vamvakinou

Mr Crean

Mr Hayes*

Ms Owens

Mr Windsor

Mr Danby

Mr Husic

Ms Parke

Mr Zappia

* Tellers


Ms Plibersek                  Ms O’Dwyer

Mr S. F. Smith               Mr Frydenberg

The numbers for the “Ayes” and the “Noes” being equal, the Speaker gave his casting vote with the “Noes” noting that he did so in accordance with precedents for retaining a proposition in its original state.

And so it was negatived.

Question—That the motion be agreed to—put and passed.