Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
 Download Current HansardDownload Current Hansard    View Or Save XMLView/Save XML

Previous Fragment    Next Fragment
Tuesday, 25 February 2014
Page: 755

Mr HOGAN (Page) (13:43): I would like today to acknowledge some leading figures in my community, and the wonderful way they were acknowledged in the Australia Day awards this year.

I would first like to make mention of Jacqueline Freney, who I have previously mentioned in the chamber, and her award as Young Australian of the Year for her efforts at the Paralympics. I would also like to mention Colin Lee of Ballina for an OAM in the general division for service to the community; Jim Dougherty of Grafton in the general division of services to surf life saving and to the community; to Margaret Ellis of Kyogle, also an OAM in the general division of service to the community of Kyogle; and to Dr Jurriaan Beek of Casino, also an OAM in the general division for services to medicine and to the committee.

I would also like to take this opportunity to acknowledge those from the Clarence Valley Council area: Jack Lumley, who was Citizen of the Year and Natalie Campbell, who was the Young Citizen of the Year. I acknowledge the Grafton Senior Citizens for their community achievement award and Fred Weller, awarded a Local Hero award, which was a great tribute to him.

From the Kyogle Council I acknowledge Ruth Haig, who was Citizen of the Year; Jasmyne Carr, who was Young Citizen of the Year; Olive Burton and Jim and Clair Hurley for their lifetime achievement awards; Noelle Lynden-Way for her contribution to community programs and activities award; Jim and Kay Crawter for their contribution to the business community award; and Ian Judd for his contribution to enhancing children's participation in the community award.

From Lismore City Council I acknowledge: Cec Harris—a great guy, Cec—who was Lismore Citizen of the Year; Angela Matthews for her citizen and services in the community award; Cindy Castella, who was Aboriginal Citizen of the year; and David McWhirter, who was sportsperson of the year.