Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
 Download Current HansardDownload Current Hansard    View Or Save XMLView/Save XML

Previous Fragment    Next Fragment
Thursday, 19 June 2014
Page: 6715

Mr WILSON (O'Connor) (13:39): I rise today to congratulate seven students across the O'Connor electorate who have been awarded an Australian Vocational Student Prize. The AVSP is one of the nation's top prizes for year 12 students undertaking Vocational Education and Training in School. It recognises year 12 students from 2013 who excelled while undertaking this program or an Australian school based apprenticeship. Seven O'Connor students are among 500 students who received the award across the nation. This recognises the skill, commitment and achievements of school students who take on vocational education in their final year of school. My congratulations go to: Peron Pearse from Great Southern Grammar; Adrian Beer and Tyson Introvigne from Denmark's WA College of Agriculture; Sarah Michael from North Albany Senior High School; Amanda Devenish and Georgia Ryan from Esperance Senior High School; and Jeremy Martyn from Manjimup Senior High School.

These students are not just ambassadors for their schools but for the first-class career opportunities that high-quality vocational education and training in school can provide. The future prosperity of our economy very much depends on a highly skilled workforce. It is great to see this generation given an opportunity to pursue a trade or training while at school before deciding on a future career. The AVSP is a great example of how we are committed to delivering a Vocational Education and Training in School system with stronger links to industry and training providers, ensuring our graduates get high-quality, on-the-job training that equips them with the skills that employers need.