Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
 Download Current HansardDownload Current Hansard    View Or Save XMLView/Save XML

Previous Fragment    Next Fragment
Wednesday, 24 November 2010
Page: 3614

Mrs PRENTICE (1:54 PM) —As the new federal member for Ryan, I was pleased to recently launch the annual Ryan Christmas card competition. Students from prep to year 3 from schools throughout the electorate participated in the competition, this year with the theme ‘What Christmas means to me’. I am very grateful to the principals, staff, parents and students of our many local primary schools for their support of this initiative and their assistance. I was delighted and impressed with the level of participation and high standard of talent. Together with the community, I look forward to showcasing the artwork of our primary students throughout the electorate on my Christmas cards. I also look forward to making this competition an annual event. My special appreciation and thanks to the judges—Barry Searle of the Local Bulletin, Philippa Wightman of the Western Echo and James Chalmers of Quest newspapers—who had the difficult job of determining the winners from so many entries.

I again congratulate the winners of the competition and also take this opportunity to wish all the staff, parents and students of our local schools a very happy and safe Christmas and New Year with family and friends. There were three overall winners from the Ryan electorate, with one from each year group. The year 1 winner was Ella Mulcahy from St Andrew’s School, Ferny Grove. Second went to Cara Fraser from Hilder Road State School and third place went to Sophie Moeser from Bardon State School. The year 2 winner was Sabine Chin-Lowe from Indooroopilly State School. Second place went to Isabella Gockel from Hilder Road State School and third place went to Maisie Lilienstein from Holy Family School. The year 3 winner was Emma Rose from St Andrew’s School, Ferny Grove. Second place went to Katie Limerick from Bardon State School and third place went to May Weyer from Holy Family School. Congratulations and thank you to everyone involved.