Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
 Download Current HansardDownload Current Hansard    View Or Save XMLView/Save XML

Previous Fragment    Next Fragment
Tuesday, 8 May 2012
Page: 4206

Infrastructure and Transport: Portfolio Entities

(Question No. 805)

Mr Fletcher asked the Minister for Infrastructure and Transport, in writing, on 7 February 2012:

How many departments, agencies, commissions, Government owned corporations or other such bodies have been created within the Minister's portfolio since 24 November 2007 (excluding existing departments that have been re-named or merged into a larger entity), what is the name of each such entity, and how many fulltime equivalent employees did each such entity have at the end of 2011.

Mr Albanese: The answer to the honourable member's question is as follows:

The Australian Transport Safety Bureau (ATSB), as a consequence of the passing of the Transport Safety Investigation Amendment Act 2009 (TSIA Act) on 11 March 2009, was established as an independent Statutory Agency with a Commission structure on 1 July 2009. The ATSB was previously a division of the then Department of Infrastructure, Transport, Regional Development and Local Government.

Infrastructure Australia (IA) was established as a statutory body under the Infrastructure Australia Act 2008 which came into effect on 9 April 2008.