Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
Tuesday, 30 April 1996
Page: 20

Mr CREAN (Manager of Opposition Business)(5.12 p.m.) —Mr Speaker, at the outset I congratulate you on being elected to the Speaker's position in the House. It is pleasing from our side of the House that you have been so rewarded. From those who have observed your capacity to organise the numbers for others in what was the opposition, it is pleasing that that skill was not lost when it came to your own position.   Indeed, if this independence that you are asserting bears fruit, I might even come and seek your advice myself at some stage.

It gives me great pleasure to second this nomination. I have known the member for Scullin (Mr Jenkins) for a long time but have been involved with him in this House since 1990 when I came to this place. Since that time he has held the positions of Deputy Chairman of Committees in the parliament from 1990 to 1993 and also Deputy Speaker and Chairman of Committees in the last parliament.

He also comes, for those that it matters to in this place, from a very proud political family. Those of us who have come here via that route understand the knowledge that can be imparted by going down that route. I therefore think that what we have in this nomination is a person who has shown in that capacity fairness, strength in the position of the chair and, most importantly, a command of the procedures of the House. I think that, together with you, Mr Speaker, and Mr Nehl, the member for Cowper, the member for Scullin will provide an excellent contribution and quality of candidature, and hopefully one will see the House operating in good shape over the course of this parliament.

Mr SPEAKER —In accordance with standing order 13, the bells will be rung and a ballot will be taken.

The bells having been rung and a ballot having been taken—

Mr SPEAKER —Order! The result of the ballot is: Mr Jenkins, 48 votes; Mr Nehl, 96 votes. Mr Nehl is appointed Deputy Speaker and Mr Jenkins shall be Second Deputy Speaker.