Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
 Download Current HansardDownload Current Hansard   

Previous Fragment    
Tuesday, 15 November 1983
Page: 2748

Question No. 623

Mr Lloyd asked the Minister representing the Minister for Education and Youth Affairs, upon notice, on 13 October 1983:

(1) What involvement has the Minister's Department had in discussions on the possible use of Domsat as an educational aid in remote areas of Australia.

(2) Have interdepartmental or other committees been established to examine the introduction and use of Domsat; if so, (a) what are the committees and (b) who are their members.

Mr Dawkins —The Minister for Education and Youth Affairs has provided the following answer to the honourable member's question:

(1) My Department has had close and continuing liaison with the Department of Communications, and also consults as necessary with Aussat Pty Ltd, Telecom, SAT users and the Royal Flying Doctor Service. These consultations have included discussion on the possible educational use of satellite communication in remote areas. The Department chaired a working party on the educational use of the communications satellite, which consisted of representatives from State and Territory education authorities, for 3 years from October 1979. It currently chairs and services the Advisory Committee on the Educational Use of Communications Technology, which has members representing education authorities in the States and Territories, and consultant members.

(2) Yes (see 1).

(a) The Commonwealth/State Advisory Committee on the Educational Use of Communications Technology.

(b) Members of (a): Mr J. Burnett (Chair) Department of Education and Youth Affairs

State Representatives Mr R. G. King New South Wales Department of Technical and Further Education

Mr T. King Victorian Education Department

Mr J. Kitt Queensland Education Department

Mr C. Dunnett South Australia Education Department

Mr C. R. Rodgers Western Australia Education Department

Mr G. Foster Tasmanian Education Department

Mr J. Kirk Northern Territory Education Department

Mr P. Miles Australian Capital Territory Schools Authority

Consultant Members Dr P. White La Trobe University

Mr P. McNally Darling Downs Institute of Advanced Education

Mr W. Morris New South Wales Department of Technical and Further Education